When you experience a fall that results in serious injury, you may struggle with associated expenses such as medical bills and lost wages. When another’s negligence contributed to your injury, you may be eligible for legal damages to cover your costs.
Learn more about how slip-and-fall liability works in Connecticut and steps you can take to file a lawsuit.
Under Connecticut law, a plaintiff in a slip-and-fall case has to prove that the property owner had a duty to shield visitors from hazards but failed to fulfill that responsibility. Evidence must also show that this negligence directly contributed to the injury in question and that the plaintiff suffered financial damages as a result.
For example, you may have a slip-and-fall claim if you break your leg in an icy supermarket parking lot or if you fall in a poorly lit stairway in your apartment building. To determine fault, the judge will review evidence such as videos, photos, eyewitness accounts and local building codes.
Understanding comparative negligence
The defendant may argue that your actions contributed to your injury. If the judge finds that you are less than 50% responsible for the slip-and-fall accident, you can receive damages reduced by your fault percentage. Using the first example above, perhaps you did not notice the ice because you were texting while walking. The judge decides you were 30% at fault for the accident. If your costs associated with the accident were $20,000, the judge would reduce this amount by 30% for total damages of $14,000.
As with other types of Connecticut personal injury claims, slip-and-fall accidents are subject to a two-year statute of limitations. If you fail to file a legal claim before the two-year limit, the court will reject your case, and you will no longer be eligible for monetary damages. Seek immediate medical attention and document all expenses after this type of accident.