Having auto insurance protects your financial interests if an accident occurs. In fact, Connecticut requires drivers to carry a certain amount of auto insurance. 

Familiarize yourself with the coverage minimums and other facts about state auto insurance laws. 

Connecticut auto coverage minimums 

The state requires drivers to have both a liability policy and an uninsured and underinsured motorist policy. Liability insurance covers the costs of an accident caused by the policyholder. Connecticut motorists must carry at least $25,000 per accident for property damage as well as $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury. 

Drivers must also carry an uninsured and underinsured motorist policy. This type of insurance covers injury to you, passengers and family members who live in your household in an accident caused by: 

  • An uninsured driver 
  • A driver without sufficient insurance to cover the costs associated with your injury, such as medical bills and lost wages 
  • A driver who leaves the scene of the accident 

Connecticut requires you to purchase coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. 

Steps to take after an accident 

Connecticut uses fault laws to determine who covers the costs of auto accident damage and injury. When you experience an auto accident injury in which the other driver was at fault, you can pursue coverage either through his or her insurance policy or by filing a personal injury lawsuit. In cases where fault is not yet clear, you can file a claim with your own auto insurance company. In either case, the adjuster will review the police report and other evidence to determine fault. 

The state’s comparative fault system means that you can recoup some damages if you have a share of responsibility for the accident. As long as another party was at least 50% at fault, the court will reduce your financial award by your fault percentage. If you decide to file a lawsuit against another driver, you must do so within two years of the collision.