After an auto accident injury, you may become overwhelmed with the cost of medical bills. You may experience chronic pain or be unable to work.
If another driver was at fault for the accident that caused your injuries, you may be able to sue for monetary damages in Connecticut.
Connecticut law uses the modified comparative fault standard. Under this law, you can recover damages if you have less than 50% fault for the crash. However, the court will deduct your damage percentage from your financial award. For example, if the judge decides to award $150,000 in compensation but you are 20% at fault because of a missing headlight, you would receive $120,000.
You must be able to prove fault to win an auto accident lawsuit. You should gather police reports, witness statements, photos and video of the crash site, and medical records from the doctors treating your accident injuries.
You can receive unlimited monetary damages if you win this type of lawsuit. The court can order a settlement that includes lost wages, pain and suffering, medical expenses, and property damage costs.
Connecticut law also recognizes punitive damages. If the other driver deliberately or recklessly caused the accident, the judge can double or triple your financial award.
Connecticut is a fault-based state for insurance purposes. That means you can file a claim with your insurance company or the other driver’s insurance company after an accident.
You can also sue the responsible driver directly. In Connecticut, you have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit after an auto accident.